List of Bank Holidays in the Year 2020

December 28, 2019 2:46 am

2020 is almost here. Before we get there, you have a chance to take a look at when you can possibly have a holiday. Mostly, on bank holidays a lot of other companies are also shut.

Of course, there is an uncountable number of state holidays when banks are closed in those respective states too. However, here we cover the major holidays that are applicable all over the country.

Bank Holidays in India 2020

This list of bank holidays in the year 2020 will help you know the dates of your festivals, when the banks all over India will be closed for services and when you can plan a vacation:

Date Occasion
Wednesday, 1st January New Year
Sunday, 26th January Republic Day
Thursday, 30th January Vasant Panchami
Friday, 21st February Maha Shivratri
Tuesday, 10th March Holi
Wednesday, 25th March Ugadi
Thursday, 2nd April Ram Navami
Monday, 6th April Mahavir Jayanti
Friday, 10th April Good Friday
Tuesday, 14th April B.R. Ambedkar’s Birthday
Friday, 1st May May Day
Thursday, 7th May Buddha Purnima
Friday, 31st July Eid-al-Adha
Monday, 3rd August Rakshabandhan
Tuesday, 11th August Janmashtami
Saturday, 15th August Independence Day
Sunday, 30th August Muharram
Friday, 2nd October Gandhi Jayanti
Monday, 26th October Vijay Dashami
Friday, 30th October Eid-e-Milad
Saturday, 14th November Diwali
Monday, 16th November Bhai Dooj
Monday, 30th November Guru Nanak Jayanti
Friday, 25th December Christmas

On any bank holiday, not only does the bank remain shut, but you are unable to procure any banking service on that day too. Your debit and credit cards will work, but if you want to make an RTGS payment, it won’t reflect in the receiver’s account on a bank holiday.

Adity Bera

Adity has been a part of the journey ever since Scoop Byte started. As a strong learner and passionate writer, she contributes her writing skills for the website and jots down intellectual news pieces from entertainment niche.

Disqus Comments Loading...